2017 NAS Awards

Since 1886, the National Academy of Sciences has honored outstanding achievement in the physical, biological, and social sciences through its awards program. This year’s winners include renowned environmental scientist and marine ecologist Jane Lubchenco who will receive the Public Welfare Medal in recognition of her "successful efforts in bringing together the larger research community, its sponsors, and the public policy community to focus on urgent issues related to global environmental change."  The medal is the Academy's most prestigious award, established in 1914 and presented annually to honor extraordinary use of science for the public good.

For more information on the NAS Awards and the complete list of 2017 winners, please visit the 2017 NAS Awards website.

You can join the National Academy of Sciences online as the recipients are presented their awards on Sunday, April 30 at 2:00 p.m. EDT.