2017 Keck Futures Initiative Communication Awards

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine announced the recipients of the 2017 Communication Awards.  Supported by the W.M. Keck Foundation since 2003 as part of the Keck Futures Initiative, these prestigious awards -- each of which includes a $20,000 prize -- recognize excellence in reporting and communicating science, engineering, and medicine to the general public.  The winners will be honored during a ceremony on September 13 in Washington, DC.

Selected from 290 entries for works published or aired in 2016, the recipients of this year's awards are:

Book Winner
Margot Lee Shetterly for "Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race" (William Morrow/HarperCollins Publishers)

 “A hitherto little-known episode in the history of pioneering aerospace engineering and computing brought to light so engagingly that, along with the blockbuster movie it inspired, has had an unprecedented impact on the American public.”

Film/Radio/TV Winner
William Brangham, Jason Kane and the team at "PBS NewsHour" with Jon Cohen at Science magazine for "The End of AIDS?," produced in collaboration with the Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting.

“A compelling series that challenges long-held assumptions about the status of AIDS, with eye-opening reporting from six very different communities around the world.”

Newspaper/Magazine Winner
Chicago Tribune’s Sam Roe, Karisa King, and Ray Long for the three-part series "Dangerous Doses"

“A masterful melding of data-mining, scientific exposition, and investigative journalism to expose a critical public health issue.”

Online Winner
FiveThirtyEight’s Maggie Koerth-Baker, Ben Casselman, Anna Maria Barry-Jester, and Carl Bialik for "Gun Deaths in America"

“A balanced and fact-filled examination of an unfolding crisis, with compelling interactives that are meticulously attentive to data quality and statistics.”

The awards ceremony, which is free and open to the public, will take place on Wednesday, September 13th at the National Academy of Sciences building in Washington, DC.  To register to attend, e-mail  or click here to RSVP by September 8th
Follow the conversation on Twitter using #NASEMCommAward.